Uninsured / Underinsured Motorist Claims
It is illegal in Missouri to drive a motor vehicle without liability insurance. A recent study estimates that one in every seven drivers does not have liability insurance. If you have been injured in a motor vehicle accident that was not your fault, and the other driver does not have insurance, you can still receive compensation for your medical bills, lost wages and pain and suffering. Every motor vehicle liability insurance policy sold in Missouri must have uninsured motorist coverage. The uninsured motorist coverage on your own motor vehicle insurance policy will cover you in the event that the at fault driver is uninsured. Uninsured motorist coverage also provides coverage in instances where the identity of the at fault driver is unknown such as in a hit and run circumstance or where the at fault driver causes an accident but does not make actual contact with your vehicle and leaves the scene .
Here is an example of how uninsured motorist coverage works. A driver rear ends you when you are stopped at a stop sign. The other driver does not have insurance or leaves the scene of the accident and you can not identity the driver. Assume the value of your claim is $15,000.00. You have a claim against your own insurance company for $15,000.00.
Having underinsured motorist coverage on your liability insurance policy is not mandatory in Missouri. If you purchased underinsured motorist coverage, you may be entitled to compensation from your insurance company if the amount of your damages are greater than the insurance policy limits of the responsible driver. The current minimum bodily injury liability limits in Missouri are $25,000.00 per person and $50,000.00 per accident.
Here is an example of how underinsured coverage works. You purchased $50,000.00 of underinsured motorist coverage on your motor vehicle liability policy. You were injured in a motorcycle accident when a car changed lanes and hits your motorcycle. Assume the value of your claim is $50,000.00. The responsible driver has liability policy limits of $25,000.00. The insurance company for the responsible driver offers to settle with you for their policy limits of $25,000.00. You have an underinsured motorist claim against your own insurance company for $25,000.00.
Uninsured Motorist Coverage and Underinsured Motorist Coverage provide coverage for:
- Medical Bills
- Lost Wages
- Pain and Suffering
We handle car accidents, motorcycle accidents, truck accidents and pedestrian accidents that involve uninsured motorists and underinsured motorists.
Despite having uninsured motorist coverage or underinsured motorist coverage, it is an unfortunate fact that your own insurance company will in all likelihood treat you unfairly. When you make a claim against your own insurance company for personal injuries your insurance company’s goal is to pay you nothing or as little as possible. Your insurance company may deny your claim altogether, attempt to settle your claim for far less than what it is worth or unreasonably delay payment on your claim.
Our experienced personal injury lawyers have handled uninsured/underinsured motorist claims for more that 26 years. We will work hard to insure that you receive fair and full compensation from your insurance company.
CONTACT OUR MISSOURI UNINSURED / UNDERINSURED MOTORIST LAWYERS
The uninsured and underinsured motorist lawyers of The Neuman Law Firm are dedicated to maximizing the recoveries that we obtain for our uninsured/underinsured motorist claim clients and providing our clients with personal attention. We have a record of success in favorably resolving uninsured/ underinsured motorist claims and we can help you too. Call us toll free at 1-855-603-1773 or contact us online by completing the Contact The Firm Box to schedule a free case evaluation.
We handle all uninsured/underinsured motorist cases on a contingent fee basis, which means there is no fee up front and there is only a fee at the end of your case if we obtain compensation for you.